Note: I apologize for the lack of posting in recent months.  I have been swamped with work.  That said, starting in about a 2 weeks, I will once again be able to post somewhat regularly.  Its too bad the Padres won’t still be playing.

Like last year, the Baseball Blogger’s Alliance is voting on its post-season awards.  Each chapter gets two votes per award, and only votes for awards in its own league (NL/AL).  The San Diego Padres chapter has decided to pool its votes so that each member gets to vote. Before I get to our chapter’s vote, I want to release my personal choices for National League Manager of the Year:

1.  Bud Black.  Hey, why not?  The Padres had a surprisingly good season, so I’ll give Black the hometown vote.

2. Charlie Manuel-The Phillies had the best record in the N.L., so at least Manuel didn’t hold them back too much.

3. Bobby Cox-Lets give the guy credit for going out strong.

Intentionally left off the ballot-Dusty Baker.  A guy who says things like:

“On-base percentage is great if you can score runs and do something with that on-base percentage…Clogging up the bases isn’t that great to me


I think walks are overrated unless you can run. If you get a walk and put the pitcher in a stretch, that helps, but the guy who walks and can’t run, most of the time he’s clogging up the bases for somebody who can run.

will never get my vote for manager of the year.

As for the Padres chapter of the BBA, we voted as follows:

1. Bud Black

2/3 Bobby Cox*

2/3 Dusty Baker*

*Cox and Baker tied with 6 point each.  On one of our ballots, Cox will be listed second, and Baker third. On our second ballot, the order will be reversed.

Individual blogger votes:

RJ’s Fro:

1. Bud Black
2. Dusty Baker
3. Bruce Bochy


1. Bobby Cox

2. Dusty Baker

3. Bruce Bochy